Monday, October 12, 2015

MMGM: Firefly Hollow by Alison McGhee


ABOUT THE BOOK

Firefly. Cricket. Vole. Peter. Can four creatures from four very different Nations help one another find their ways in the world that can feel oh-so-big? Delve into this lush, unforgettable tale in the tradition of Charlotte’s Web and The Rats of NIMH, from the author of the New York Times bestselling Someday.

Firefly doesn’t merely want to fly, she wants to touch the moon. Cricket doesn’t merely want to sing about baseball, he wants to catch. When these two little creatures with big dreams wander out of Firefly Hollow, refusing to listen to their elders, they find themselves face-to-face with the one creature they were always told to stay away from…a giant.

But Peter is a Miniature Giant. They’ve always been told that a Miniature Giant is nothing but a Future Giant, but this one just isn’t quite as big or as scary as the other Giants. Peter has a dream of his own, as well as memories to escape. He is overwhelmed with sadness, and a summer with his new unlikely friends Firefly and Cricket might be just what he needs. Can these friends’ dreams help them overcome the past?

Firefly Hollow is nothing short of enchanting, reminding us all that the very best friend is the one who wants you to achieve your dreams. Full-color tip-in illustrations and dozens of black-and-white drawing provide added glow.

REVIEW

In lyrical prose, McGhee tells a sweet story about a young cricket and firefly who dream of something more than avoiding giants (people), and being typical bugs.  Cricket wants to learn how to catch like Yogi Berra. Firefly wants to fly to the moon.  And Vole, the sole remaining vole in the area is preparing to sail off down the river the way his ancestors once did.  And young Peter (a miniature giant) desperately misses his friend Charlie and refuses to go back to school.  These four come together to encourage each other.

The illustrations by Christopher Denise are beautiful and provide the perfect touch for the smooth prose.  I couldn't help but sympathize with Firefly and Cricket in their efforts to pursue their dreams while coming to grips with the way the world is, sadness and difficulties and all.  I loved how all the different pieces came together like the four main characters creating a wonderful tapestry of friendship and dreaming.  Like Charlotte's Web, this is a beautiful ode to power of friendship to help one to chase a dream and face reality at the same time.


No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Story Time kit by Kristin Aagard