Posts

#MMGM: Unstuck by Barbara Dee w/ AUTHOR INTERVIEW

Image
UNSTUCK by Barbara Dee Aladdin, 2024 ISBN: 9781534489882 Source: eARC from publisher for review Ages 10-14 All opinions expressed are solely my own. Book cover, author photo, & book summary provided by the publisher. ABOUT THE BOOK From critically acclaimed author Barbara Dee comes a middle grade novel about a girl whose struggles with writer’s block set off unexpected twists and turns, both on and off the page. Lyla is thrilled when her seventh-grade English language arts class begins a daily creative writing project. For the past year, she’s been writing a brilliant fantasy novel in her head, and here’s her chance to get it on paper! The plot to Lyla’s novel is super complicated, with battle scenes and witches and a mysterious one-toed-beast, but at its core, it’s about an overlooked girl who has to rescue her beautiful, highly accomplished older sister. But writing a fantasy novel turns out to be harder than simply imagining one, and pretty soon Lyla finds herself stuck, experie

PICTURE BOOK REVIEW: Go Forth and Tell by Breanna J. McDaniel & April Harrison

Image
  GO FORTH AND TELL: The Life of Augusta Baker, Librarian and Master Storyteller written by Breanna J. McDaniel, illustrated by April Harrison Dial Books for Young Readers, 2024 ISBN: 978-0-593-32420-2 Source: Publisher for review (Thanks!) Ages 4-8 All opinions expressed are solely my own. Book cover & summary provided by the publisher through Goodreads.com. ABOUT THE BOOK From an award-winning author and illustrator comes this picture book biography about beloved librarian and storyteller Augusta Braxton Baker, the first Black coordinator of children’s services at all branches of the New York Public Library. Before Augusta Braxton Baker became a storyteller, she was an excellent story listener. Her grandmother brought stories like Br’er Rabbit and Arthur and Excalibur to life, teaching young Augusta that when there’s a will, there’s always a way. When she grew up, Mrs. Baker began telling her own fantastical stories to children at the 135th Street branch of the New York Public Li

PICTURE BOOK REVIEW: Do You Know Them? by Shana Keller & Laura Freeman

Image
  DO YOU KNOW THEM? Families Lost and Found After the Civil War written by Shana Keller, illustrated by Laura Freeman Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2024 ISBN: 978-1-6659-1307-2 Source: purchased Ages 8-12 All opinions expressed are solely my own. Book cover & summary provided by publisher through Goodreads.com. ABOUT THE BOOK A moving and triumphant picture book inspired by the printed newspaper ads placed by African Americans who were separated from family members by the Civil War, enslavement, and emancipation. After the war’s end, everyone is missing someone. Lettie’s missing her family. They had been sold and lost long before enslavement was abolished. Every week, she reads the advertisements in the newspapers to her congregation. “Do you know them? I would like to find my people. My mother’s name was Charlotte King, and when I was sold, I had five brothers.” Lettie is determined to find her loved ones, too. She saves every penny she earns, but not to buy candy or toys. She

PICTURE BOOK NONFICTION: Fighting with Love: The Legacy of John Lewis by Lesa Cline-Ransome & James E. Ransome

Image
FIGHTING WITH LOVE The Legacy of John Lewis written by Lesa Cline-Ransome, illustrated by James E. Ransome A Paula Wiseman Book/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2024 ISBN; 978-1-5344-9662-0 Source: publisher for review Ages 9-12 All opinions expressed are solely my own. Book cover & summary provided by the publisher through Goodreads.com. ABOUT THE BOOK The story of a groundbreaking civil rights leader, John Lewis, comes to life in this compelling and beautifully told nonfiction picture book. John Lewis left a cotton farm in Alabama to join the fight for civil rights when he was only a teenager. He soon became a leader of a movement that changed the nation. Walking at the side of his mentor, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Lewis was led by his belief in peaceful action and voting rights. Today and always his work and legacy live on. REVIEW Covering his childhood through to Bloody Sunday (the march to Selma), Fighting with Love, highlights the life of John Lewis. From a you

PICTURE BOOK REVIEW: My Block Looks Like by Janelle Harper & Frank Morrison

Image
  MY BLOCK LOOKS LIKE written by Janelle Harper, illustrated by Frank Morrison Viking, 2024 ISBN: 978-0-593-52630-9 Source: Publisher for review (Thanks!) Ages 4-8 All opinions expressed are solely my own. Book cover & summary provided by publisher through Goodreads.com. ABOUT THE BOOK A love letter to the hustle, the bustle, the joy, and the grit of city life by debut author and Bronx native, Janelle Harper, and two-time Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award winner, Frank Morrison. "My block looks like a collision of cultures a melting pot of cool a burst of life my favorite groove. . .No matter what happens I’ve seen it for myself my block looks like the coolest place I’ve ever been." A lyrical and proud picture book that recognizes the beauty of the bodegas, subways, and playgrounds that characterize everyday life in the Bronx and pays homage to the ways that its residents have shaped pop culture through music, visual art, and dance. Perfect for fans of I Am Every Good

PICTURE BOOK REVIEW: The Last Stand by Antwan Eady & Jarrett & Jerome Pumphrey

Image
THE LAST STAND written by Antwan Eady, illustrated by Jarrett & Jerome Pumphrey Alfred A. Knopf, 2024 ISBN: 978-0-593-48057-1 Source: purchased Ages 4-8 All opinions expressed are solely my own. Book cover & summary provided by the publisher through goodreads.com. ABOUT THE BOOK The author of Nigel and the Moon , delivers a tender intergenerational story inspired by his childhood in the rural south. Here's a farm stand that represents the importance of family, community, and hope. Every stand has a story. This one is mine. Saturday is for harvesting. And one little boy is excited to work alongside his Papa as they collect eggs, plums, peppers and pumpkins to sell at their stand in the farmer's market. Of course, it's more than a farmer's market. Papa knows each customer's order, from Ms. Rosa's pumpkins to Mr. Johnny's peppers. And when Papa can't make it to the stand, his community gathers around him, with dishes made of his own produce. Heartwa

YA THRILLER/SURVIVAL ADVENTURE: Swarm by Jennifer Lyle

Image
SWARM by Jennifer Lyle Sourcebooks Fire, 2023 ISBN:  9781728270913  Source: eARC from NetGalley Ages 14 and up All opinions expressed are solely my own. Book cover & summary provided by publisher through goodreads.com. ABOUT THE BOOK On a sunny September morning, the creatures first appear. Shur sees one of them hovering outside the window in history it looks like a giant butterfly, at first too beautiful and strange to seem like a threat. But when emergency alerts light up everyone's phones around her, she realizes something very, very wrong is happening outside. These… things are everywhere. By the time Shur makes it back to her house with her brother, Keene, and their two best friends, it's clear they must face whatever comes next on their own. A terrifying species the world's never seen before has suddenly emerged, and few living things are safe. As the creatures swarm and attack outside, life for Shur and her friends becomes a survival game. They board the windows,