Wednesday, April 2, 2014

BLOG TOUR/GIVEAWAY: Rose and the Lost Princess by Holly Webb



ABOUT THE BOOK

Now an apprentice magician, Rose is asked to help find a very special missing person

Turning the worn pages of her spell book, Rose can't believe how much her life has changed. Once a poor orphan, she is now an apprentice to the king's chief magician. But when the country's beloved princess vanishes, everything changes. As rumors of dark magic fly through the city, the king asks Rose for help. She must find the missing princess, before all is lost.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Holly Webb is the author of Dog Magic, Cat Magic, and Lost in the Snow. She has always loved animals and owns two very spoiled cats. They haven't said a word to her yet, but she's always listening, just in case! She lives in England.

REVIEW

Rose's magical abilities have been discovered by her master as well as the rest of the household. And while her master and her fellow apprentice, Freddie, accept her and her abilities, the other servants now fear her and one of the maids even torments her. While Rose debates whether to stay or go, winter strikes with a vengeance and an attempt is made to kidnap one of the princesses.  Combining these events with Miss Swallow's attempts to use child blood to achieve eternal life, there is a growing prejudice against those that practice magic.  When Rose is asked to help protect the princess she finds herself smack dab in the middle of the growing tension. And the disappearance of the princess complicates things further. 

A delightful continuation of a wonderful British series that combines adventure and magic with history.  Sure to be a child-pleaser, I can heartily recommend it. The book is not only a quick and exciting read but the characters are sure to be enjoyed. Rose is a feisty young lady who refuses to take her mistreatment lying down, but she still struggles with uncertainty about her magical abilities and where they might take her. But as the possibilities start to percolate in her brain, the growing fear and hatred of magicians makes her wonder where she really belongs.  Her experiences at the palace also add to her confusion.  

I think that a lot of young fantasy readers will thoroughly enjoy this new series.


GIVEAWAY

Thanks to the publisher I have one print copy of Rose and the Lost Princess to give away.
US and Canada only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TOUR SCHEDULE

Date Name Blog Blog Link
Tu April 1 Bonnie Wagner A Backwards Story http://abackwardsstory.blogspot.com/
Wed April 2 Heidi Grange Geo Librarian http://geolibrarian.blogspot.com/
Th April 3 Suzanne Costner The Fairview Review http://fveslibrary.blogspot.com
Fri April 4 Pamela Thompson YA Books - What We're Reading Now booksbypamelathompson.blogspot.com
Sat April 5 Kristen Harvey The Book Monsters www.thebookmonsters.com
Sun April 6 Jessica Nottingham Hopeless Bibliophile www.hopelessbibliophile.com




Mon April 7 Stephanie Turner Cover 2 Cover Blog www.cover2coverblog.blogspot.com
Tues April 8 Sharon Schmidt Tyler Sharon the Librarian http://sstwriting.blogspot.com/
Wed April 9 Dena Batch of Books www.batchofbooks.com
Th April 10 Aeicha Word Spelunking http://wordspelunking.blogspot.com/
Fri April 11 Kelly Hager Kelly Vision http://kellyvision.wordpress.com/
Sat April 12 Karen Nelson Central MN Mom http://centralmnmom.com/
Sun April 13 Sarit Coffe & Books & Art http://sarityahalomi.blogspot.com/




Mon April 14 Sara Grochowski The Hiding Spot http://thehidingspot.blogspot.com
Tues April 15 Deborah Debz Bookshelf http://debzbookshelf.blogspot.com/
Wed April 16 Tiffany Erickson Miss Tiff Reads www.misstiffreads.blogspot.com
Th April 17 Teri Crosby Snarky Mamma http://snarkymamma.blogspot.com/
Fri April 18 Lory Widmer Emerald City Book Review http://emeraldcitybookreview.blogspot.com/
Sat April 19 Debbie Alvarez The Styling Librarian http://thestylinglibrarian.com/
Sun April 20 Erin Al-Mehairi Hook of a Book http://hookofabook.wordpress.com/




Mon April 21 Orsayor Young-Simmons Book Referees http://bookreferees.blogspot.com/
Tues April 22 Megan T Inspired by Fiction http://inspiredbyfiction.blogspot.com/
Wed April 23 Kyra Morris Blog of a Bookaholic http://blogofabookaholic.blogspot.com/
Th April 24 Jenny Wondrous Reads http://www.wondrousreads.com/
Fri April 25 Tanya Johnson Tanya's Book Nook http://tanyasbooknook.blogspot.com
Sat April 26 Pam Torres Madison and Cooper's Blog http://www.madisonmorgan11.com/madisonmorgan11.com/Home.html
Sun April 27 Allie In Bed With Books http://inbedwithbooks.blogspot.com




Mon April 28 Erin PreFontaine Jump Into Books http://jumpintobooks.blogspot.com/
Tues April 29 Amanda One Momma Saving Money http://www.onemommasavingmoney.com/
Wed April 30 Natalie Literary Rambles http://www.literaryrambles.com/
Th May 1 Hope Clippinger Hope to Read www.hopetoread.com
Fri May 2 Ashley P. Tales of Mommyhood www.talesofmommyhood.com
Saturday May 3 Marcie Turner To Read or Not To Read http://www.toreadornottoread.net
Sunday May 4 Rubina Ramesh The Book Club - Rubina Ramesh http://rubinaramesh.blogspot.com/




Mon May 5 Sheila Ruth Wands and Worlds http://blog1.wandsandworlds.com/
Tues May 6 Brandee Foster One Crazy Kid http://onecrazykid.com/
Wed May 7 Inma Leonard Inspired Librarian http://inspiredlibrarian.blogspot.com/
Thurs May 8 Alanna Shaw The Flashlight Reader http://www.theflashlightreader.com/
Fri May 9 Colleen Bohensky A Madison Mom www.amadisonmom.net
Sat May 10 Laura Got Fiction? www.gotfiction.com
Sun May 11 Jean Vallesteros Jean Book Nerd http://jeanbooknerd.com/




Mon May 12 Karen DeWysockie Books Beside My Bed www.booksbesidemybed.com
Tues May 13 Jennifer Szoch Novel Nutritious www.novelnutritious.com
Wed May 14 Kim (KJ) Bateman Tea and Savories www.teaandsavories.blogspot.com
Thurs May 15 Karen Cassey The Bookaholic Blurbs http://thebookaholicblurbs.blogspot.com/
Fri May 16 Krystal Larson Live to Read http://livetoread-krystal.blogspot.com/
Sat May 17 Emily Harris Read Your Bookcase http://readyourbookcase.blogspot.com/
Sun May 18 Liz Engebrecht Redd's Reads http://reddjena.tumblr.com/




1 comment:

  1. My disreguard my entry as I live in Australia, ta

    ReplyDelete

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Story Time kit by Kristin Aagard