Friday, September 28, 2018

FANTASTIC FRIDAY: Float by Laura Martin


ABOUT THE BOOK

From the critically acclaimed author of the Edge of Extinction series comes this fast-paced, action-packed, and heartfelt adventure about a group of kids with uncontrollable abilities, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman, Lisa McMann, and Dan Gutman!

Emerson can float…he just can’t do it very well.

His uncontrollable floating is his RISK factor, which means that he deals with Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind. The last place Emerson wants to be is at a government-mandated summer camp for RISK kids like him, so he’s shocked when he actually starts having fun at camp—and he even makes some new friends.

But it’s not all canoeing and capture the flag at Camp Outlier. The summer of fun takes a serious turn when Emerson and his friends discover that one of their own is hiding a deadly secret that puts all of their lives in danger.

It’s up to the Red Maple boys to save themselves—and everyone like them.


REVIEW

When Emerson first arrives at Camp Outlier, he doesn't want to be there.  As a RISK kid, he's been treated as an outsider his whole life, and the steel boots and vest that he has to wear don't help things any.  Then he discovers that being at a camp with other kids like him, who have uncontrollable superpowers, isn't so bad, and he fits in better than he could ever have imagined.  For the first time in his life, Emerson isn't spending all his time playing video games, and he has friends.  But things take a dangerous turn when Emerson discovers that one of his camp mates has a dangerous secret that will change everything.  And since the adults can't or won't do anything, it's up to Emerson and his new found friends to save the day.  

Martin has created a thoroughly entertaining book about some rather unusual children.  While the characters all have strange abilities, they are still children who want to belong, and who are tired of being treated differently.  The craziness that results when they come together results in some rather amusing events.  And yet the themes of friendship and adapting to differences shine through loud and clear.  And mixed in with all of that are typical camping experiences involving fires, latrines, and girls.  I enjoyed watching Emerson and his friends change over the summer as they become friends as well as cabin mates. In addition to the more serious themes, there is enough silliness (and yes, grossness--roping pigs anyone?) to satisfy most middle grade readers.

No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Story Time kit by Kristin Aagard