Tuesday, January 16, 2018

PICTURE BOOK REVIEWS: Winter books


ABOUT THE BOOK

A young girl makes a snowman, sleds, and has other winter fun!

REVIEW

This adorable board book revolves around a young girl's adventures in the snow.  The illustrations are the best part of the book, with the cute little girl and her dog at the center of each spread.  The text is broken up on each spread, half on one side and half on the other.  While the rhyming works on most of the spreads, there are a couple that stretch it a bit (round, mounds or crash, smashed), but that's a minor quibble.  All in all a sweet little book to read with babies and toddlers, especially those who love the snow.


ABOUT THE BOOK

Bear lovers, rejoice! Shake up a snowstorm in this gorgeous gift edition of the award-winning classic by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury.

We're going on a bear hunt. We're going to catch a big one. Will you come, too? For over a quarter of a century, readers have been swishy-swashying and splash-sploshing through this award-winning favorite. This new hardback gift edition includes a 3-D snow scene on the cover to add fun and festive flurries to your favorite family adventure story.

REVIEW

This pop-up version of the classic book makes for a fun, interactive read.  And the snow globe feature on the front, allows the young reader/listener to shake the book up and down and make it snow.  Like to classic chant, this book takes the reader on a fun trip through a grassy field, a river, a muddy field, a dark forest, and a creepy cave.  The fun sound effects make for a perfect opportunity to get the listener or listeners up and marching around themselves.  Like so many things in life, the family eventually realizes that sometimes we don't really want to find what we go looking for.  The pop-ups make this a bit delicate, but the book is bound to get lots of love before falling apart.


ABOUT THE BOOK

Discover all the beautiful colors of the season in this novelty tabbed board book from Crayola that puts a creative spin on the winter hues!

Explore the colors of a perfect winter day! When you think of winter, do you think of the colors of the rainbow? Even when the world is covered in white snow, if you bundle up and take a stroll, you’ll see that there is color everywhere, from a snowman’s cornflower blue scarf, to a dandelion yellow sun, and more. It’s a winter colorland!

Don’t miss the instructions on the last spread for how to create colorful paper snowflakes!

REVIEW

It's so easy to get gloomy during wintertime with all the grays and silvers (not to mention the dirty snow).  But this book reminds us that if we take the time to look, there are plenty of beautiful colors to see.  Trust Crayola to create a book so bright and colorful and eye-catching.  Each page highlights a particular group of colors with each word highlighted so the reader/listener can then look for the color on the spread, making this a fun I Spy book as well as a book about colors.  In addition to the regular pages, there are instructions for making a rainbow snowflake.


ABOUT THE BOOK

Franklin soars onto the ice with Charlie Brown and the rest of the Peanuts gang in this 8x8 storybook based on a classic Peanuts pastime!

When Franklin accepts Charlie Brown’s invitation to play hockey at the pond, the ace player doesn’t get the carefree afternoon he expects. First Peppermint Patty refuses to share the ice. Then a rival group of kids try to claim the pond for themselves.

It looks like Franklin will never get to skate, until he brainstorms a brilliant play to please everyone. With Charlie Brown, Peppermint Patty, Lucy, and Snoopy on his side, he challenges the rival kids in a winner-take-all game of hockey. If Franklin’s team wins, the pond belongs to everyone.

REVIEW

Franklin wants to play hockey with Charlie Brown, but Peppermint Patty is practicing her figure skating routine.  The boys leave and go watch Snoopy and Woodstock play hockey.  After Snoopy and Woodstock destroy the birdbath, they return to the pond to see if Patty is done.  They arrive in time to see Patty being bullied by a bunch of older kids.  With Franklin offer of assistance the two groups begin to play hockey. This is a cute enough book for those who enjoy the Peanuts gang.                                     


ABOUT THE BOOK

Way up high in the Rolie Polie Sky is a little round planet of a really swell guy…

Olie’s Rolie Polie world has turned snowy! But when the sun turns back on, what will happen to Olie’s new buddy, Mr. Snowie? Find out in this classic picture book-turned-beloved-TV-show from the brilliant mind that brought you The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore.

Rolie Polie Olie wishes his world would turn snowy, but it’s forever sunny—until one day when the sun blows a bulb. Olie’s wish comes true, and—joy, oh joy—it snows! Rolie and his sister Zowie build a snowman buddy, Mr. Snowie, to join in on their snow day adventures. But when the sun gets a new bulb, all is not bright: Mr. Snowie is in danger of melting! There’s only one solution: a rocket trip to Chillsville. Past the dangerous North Wind, Rolie, Zowie, and Mr. Snowie find a cool world filled with frosty friends to eat snowball pie and dance a chilly cha-cha with. And then they get the greatest surprise of all—a visit from Klanky Klaus! Talk about one awesome snow day!

REVIEW

Snowie Rolie is a story of friendship and sacrifice.  On an unusual day when it snows, Olie and Zowie create Snowie, a new friend.  They have a great time until the sun replaces its bulb and heats up again.  Then Olie and Zowie are forced to find a way for their friend to survive.  Eventually they realize that Snowie can't stay where he's at, and they take off for Chillsville.  After a crash landing, they find some more new friends and a place for Snowie to stay safe.  While it's hard to say goodbye, Olie and Zowie know it's the best thing for their friend.  Joyce has created a sweet story of friendship found, friendship lost, and friendship remembered.  The illustrations are bright and cheerful and make the book fun to read.


ABOUT THE BOOK

A young owl experiences the magic of a first snowfall--the quiet wintery wonder, the pristine beauty, and snowballs!--in this follow-up to the adorable Hoot and Peep

It's Peep's first winter, and it's going to snow very, very soon. Peep has so many questions for her older brother Hoot: Does snow drop, polppety splop, like the rain's song? Does it scrinkle scrattle like falling leaves? But Hoot can't remember snow very well. The one thing he knows for sure is that it is worth waiting for.

But Peep doesn't have his patience, and as she flies around the gorgeous Paris skies, she tries her best to make up her own snow song. But once those first snowflakes start to fall, Peep realizes just how wise her older brother really is for waiting...and just who she wants to cuddle up to when the snow starts to really sing.

With all the wonder and the joy of a first snow day, and perfect for fans of The Quiet Book and Little Owl's Night, this tender follow-up to Hoot and Peep is certainly worth waiting for, too.

REVIEW

In this sweet follow-up to Hoot and Peep, the two young owls experience the first snowfall of the winter together.  And while Hoot tries to help Peep understand what snow is, he has a hard time because he hardly remembers himself.  But he does remember enough to take Peep to a great place for watching the snow come, if only Peep could find the patience to wait for it.  Once again, Judge has created a tender story of a sibling relationship as Hoot's patience meet's Peep's eagerness.  The illustrations are adorable and the words fun to read out loud.

No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Story Time kit by Kristin Aagard